Plasma Physics in Dalian University of Technolog

Plasma physics discipline in Dalian University of Technology(DUT) was founded in 1980s, and won the state-council approved master’s program and doctoral programin 1993 and 1998, respectively. It was awarded the state key discipline in 2011and granted the privilege again in 2007. The plasma physics in DUT was also the state-key-discipline in the national 211- and 985-projects.

     The plasma physics in DUT has won good reputation worldwide in the research subareas¾low pressure rf plasmas, atmospheric pressure plasmas, magnetically confined plasmas, plasma-material interactionsplasma-technology applications, etc.¾  by having done many excellent research works and published a large number of high-quality papers in journals such as Nature Physics, Physical Review Letters, Applied Physics Letters, Plasma Source Science and Technology, and Physics of Plasmas. It has been bestowed a number of Provincial and Ministerial Level Awards on its achievements.

   The plasma physics in DUT has undertaken many important national research projects, e.g., the National Key Basic Research Program of China, Special Program for Important National Science and Technology, the National Magnetic Confinement Fusion Science Program, the State Key Program of National Natural Science Foundation of China, etc., with annual income of research funding up to 10 million CNY.

    There are now 17 professors, 11 associate professors, and 7 lecturers in the plasma physics, DUT, of which one was awarded "Yangtze river scholar"; one, "Liaoning province discipline talent"; three, "the new century talents by Ministry of Education" ; one,  "specially invited professor".

   Annually, thirty master and twenty PhD students or so are enrolled in the discipline.  Among the graduated PhD students, two of them were nominated for the "National excellent doctoral dissertation prize", three and four of them were awarded the "Liaoning province excellent doctoral dissertation prize" and  "Shih-tungTsi’s prize for plasma physics", respectively.  Currently there are  15 international postgraduates, who are all supported financially by various sorts of scholarships.